Homosexuality

I should have written on this subject a long time ago. After all, it is probably the most talked about subject today, both in the media and in personal conversations. It has been the focus of court decisions, legislation, protests, and demonstrations for a long time. It has the attention of religious and non-religious people, and folks from every political party, yet I have not tackled the issue. Perhaps now is the time.

My silence is not because of ignorance. I have read at least three books on the subject in the past year, examined countless blog posts and newspaper columns, studied all the relevant portions of Scripture, and had significant conversations with people on all sides of the issue.

Neither is my problem that I don’t have an opinion. In fact, I have strong commitments on the issue based on firm convictions.homosexuality

There are two reasons why I have not spoken up in the past. The first reason is because my opinion will not change your opinion. You already know what you believe and if you are like the rest of us, you only pay attention to writings that support your opinion.

If you want to know if this is true, look at your Facebook page. How often do you “like” or “share” an article that you disagree with? Your Home page is probably filled with articles that support your current beliefs. You might be attracted to one that provided new information for you, but it is unlikely that you promote an article that disagrees with you.

This is true in most of our lives. We surround ourselves with people who think like we do. Most of us are not comfortable with people who are too different from ourselves. It is not usually necessary for our friends to agree with everything we believe, but it sure helps if we all are in harmony on most things. It is easier to simply avoid hanging out with those who don’t think like we do.

My second reason for not tackling this subject head on is because my opinion will definitely make some of you mad. In fact, if statistics are anywhere close to accurate, about half of you will disagree with me. As we have noticed on this issue, usually when someone disagrees with your opinion they are angry, often irrational.

I don’t mind giving my opinion, but if it is an opinion that will alienate so many people it needs to be something that is really important to me or will make a difference if I speak up. As I just said, sharing my opinion will probably not make much difference in the way people think so why run the risk of eliminating friends?

I think I just talked myself out of speaking out on this issue.

Remember, I do have a solid opinion on the subject, and if you genuinely care what I think, I will be glad to share it with you. If you care enough to make the effort just give me a call. If you care enough about me to respect my opinion than you probably know how to get in touch.

I look forward to hearing from you.

Perhaps I need to add another statement. Some of you might get upset because you think I should care enough to risk speaking up. I get that. However, would you feel the same way if my opinion was in direct contrast to yours? Is there anything I could say that will cause you to change your opinion? Or, do you really need me to confirm what you already believe?

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Homosexuality

  1. I was once discussing this issue with my spouse and I learned a lot that day. We reached the conclusion that God makes all kinds of people. And I believe He makes Gays. If God can make those with disabilities and diseases, He can make gays.

    The sexual acts between gays are a sin, but we ALL sin and no sin is greater than the other.

    Can gays be Christians? Why not, their sin is looked upon by God for what it is – sin. As for the rest of us, no one is without sin. The only reason God looks upon us favorably is that we are IN Christ, and all of those that ask Jesus to be their Lord and Savior are in Christ.

    Doesn’t mean we are without sin, just that we recognize the Lordship of Jesus.

    While the gay lifestyle may be repugnant to some, they are our brothers and sisters in Christ, providing they have accepted Jesus.

    As for whether or not it is a true conversion, I never step between that person and God. That is not my judgment to make.

  2. ben

    Hi sir
    I really like this because people’s opinion can only be changed when their belief system has been altered from their world view/core values. Thank you so much. Albeit, I will personally like to know your conviction on the subject. I believe it will help to clarify some issues either way. God bless you sir.

  3. Dave Wells

    It’s not unusual for me to say, “I don’t have an opinion, I have a Bible,” which is a pithy way of saying that what might be construed as my opinion, is in reality a regurgitation of God’s word. I say that to say, ‘if’ your opinion on homosexuality (or any issue for that matter) is founded upon the Bible, your ‘opinion’ can change someone else’s. God’s word is powerful and can do things mere opinions cannot.

    “For the word of God is quick, and powerful, and sharper than any two-edged sword, piercing even to the dividing asunder of soul and spirit, and of the joints and marrow, and is a discerner of the thoughts and intents of the heart.” (Hebrews 4:12)

    You are absolutely correct when you say some people will get mad, but you must know this is not an excuse. Again, if your opinion(s) are Biblically-based, you should be sharing them ‘not’ as you are asked privately, but as the Holy Spirit leads you. Of course if your opinions are not Bible-based, then maybe you should keep them to yourself. 🙂

    In Christian love…

Leave a Reply

