For Those Who Don’t Make Resolutions

I don’t make New Year’s resolutions, primarily because I’m not great at planning ahead. I used to drive my boss crazy when he asked what I was planning to do at a particular meeting. My reply was usually something like, “Planning is what you do on the way to the meeting.”

Since I don’t do resolutions, I don’t have any suggestions for resolutions you should make. However, I am good at giving advice. Consequently, I have some advice that will serve you well in the coming year. Since I am getting old, you can consider it advice from an old man who has seen much of life already.

  1. Learn to laugh more—especially at yourself. In other words, don’t take life, or yourself, so seriously. Lighten up and enjoy life. If you can truly laugh at yourself, you will not be so offended when someone else laughs at you (and they will).
  2. Don’t get upset or offended at every little thing. To be honest, there are few things that are worth our anger.resolutions
  3. You will survive every near-death experience except the last one. In other words, stop worrying about dying. It will happen someday. Prepare for it, if you have not already, and then get on with living.
  4. Don’t be afraid to ask questions. Be willing to question everything, even your basic religious beliefs. If you beliefs are valid, they will withstand the inquisition.
  5. Live with the awareness that the past world was probably not as good as the present and the present world is not as good as the future. Simply put; things usually improve over time.
  6. Trust God in every circumstance–even when He doesn’t seem trustworthy and especially when it doesn’t make sense.
  7. Strive to be loving toward others, especially those who are unlike you. Jesus understood this when He told us to love our enemies. By the way, this is also a good way to reduce the number of enemies in your life.
  8. Realize that you might be wrong before assuming that someone else is wrong.
  9. It’s ok to disagree, but it’s not ok to be mean and ugly.
  10. Don’t allow traditions to prevent you from appreciating new experiences.
  11. If you try and fail, it’s not the end of the world. Just try again.
  12. Make sure you have someone in your life who will pick you up when you fall. By the way, this person is usually found when you are busy picking up
  13. Understand that it would be an incredibly boring world if everyone was just like you.

I’m going to end my list at thirteen for two reasons. First, I have run out of ideas, and second, I want to demonstrate that I’m not superstitious.

The past year has been a good one for me. In fact, even though I have had some challenges in my life, I can honestly say that every year of my life has been good. That is not because of anything I have done, but because God has been especially good to me. Most of all I pray that you will see what He is doing in your life and experience the joy of walking with Him, even when it seems you can’t walk any further.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

